Official website of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration

THINK YOU HAVE
TO GO TO THE DMV?

THINK AGAIN!

Skip the Trip with myDMV

Effective January 1, 2022

Act 753: Extends the period a commercial drivers license (CDL) is valid from the current period of four years to a period of five years. Increases the current CDL fee of $40 for a four-year license to $50 for a five- year licenses.

Act 257: Authorize the issuance of a Drivers License or Identification Card without a Photograph in certain circumstances and for other purposes: DFA currently will issue a Drivers License or Identification Card without photograph if the licensee objects to having their photo taken on grounds of a sincerely religious belief. HB1244 would require an applicant seeking license or identification card without a photograph to be 15 years of age or older and provide a completed Internal Revenue Service (IRS) For 4029 or signed affidavit attesting to his or her sincerely held religious belief that prohibits the individual from having his or her photograph taken. A license issued without a photograph of the licensee is not valid for federal identification purposes or for voter identification purposes. Valid without photo can only be issued at the Ragland Building, 1900 W 7th Street, Room 1120, Little Rock, AR 72201.

Act 1013: Provides a reduced State sale and use tax rate of 3.5% on the sale of a used motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer that has a sales price of at least four thousand dollars ($4,000) but less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
  • If the total price for the sale of a used motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer is less than ($4,000), no tax will be collected.
  • If the total price for the sale of a used motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer is at least ($4,000) but less than ($10,000), the gross price of the vehicle will be taxed at the reduced state tax rate of (3.5%).
  • Local tax will not be subject to the reduced state tax rate.
  • If the total price for the sale of a used motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer is ($10,000) or more the vehicle will be taxed at the rate of (6.5%).
  • The reduced sales tax rate for the sale of used motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers under Act 1013 applies to the date of sale, not the date of registration. If a used vehicle is purchased in December 2021, it will not be eligible for the reduced sales tax rate (effective January 1, 2022) even if the vehicle is registered in January 2022. The reduced rate is only effective for purchases on or after January 1, 2022.

Skip the trip or reduce your wait time, thanks to these
new services that help you take care of business online.

Register Your New Vehicle

Got 15 minutes? Register your new or used car, apply for a title and pay sales tax in one easy place online - no trip to the DMV needed.

START NOW

Get a Duplicate DL or ID

Lose your driver's license or state ID? Relax. Request a duplicate online and get it in the mail in 3 days or less.

GET A DUPLICATE

Real ID

Arkansas is compliant with the Real ID Act of 2005. See what you need to get yours before the May 3, 2023 deadline!

LEARN MORE
Car Image
Buying or Selling a Car

You'll need more than just the title. These online services will help you get behind the wheel and driving anywhere but the DMV.

REGISTER YOUR NEW VEHICLE

If you're new to Arkansas or just bought a car, you'll need to get it registered within 30 days. Do that and apply for your title, transfer your license plate and pay sales tax right here in just 15 minutes.

Steering Wheel
REGISTER

CHECK YOUR CAR TITLE STATUS

Once you've registered your vehicle for a title, you can look up the status of your title application here.

Thumbs Up
CAR STATUS

CALCULATE STATE SALES TAX

Find out how much tax you can expect to pay for your new car.

Calculator
HOW MUCH?

PRE-REGISTER YOUR NEW VEHICLE

LESS WAIT

If you really want to pay your vehicle sales tax at the DMV, you can streamline your visit by pre-registering here. You'll get a confirmation code to take to the DMV.

Register
PRE-REGISTER

TRANSFER VEHICLE OWNERSHIP

If you've sold a vehicle you may want to notify the state. Do that here without setting foot in the DMV.

Transfer Vehicle
TRANSFER OWNERSHIP

ORDER A PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATE

Got your heart set on a vanity plate? Order a new one here.

License Plate
ORDER A PLATE

Pay Account Balance

Customers may access any motor vehicle fees that are due on their account by entering in their letter ID or a partial VIN and zip code. You may pay the balance or partial payment by credit card or e check and view and print a receipt/notice.

Pay Your Account Balance
PAY BALANCE

Specialty Plates and Placards

Looking for an antique plate or the plate of an organization you support. We have them all listed here.

Pay Your Account Balance
SPECIALTY PLATES

Motor Vehicle Forms

Customers needing a Bill of Sale or an Affidavit print one here.

Pay Your Account Balance
FORMS

Replacement Titles

Need a title or a replacement title? Find out how to apply here.

Pay Your Account Balance
REPLACEMENT TITLES
Clipboard Image
Renewing Your Registration

Before you can renew, make sure you've assessed, paid your personal property taxes and have auto insurance.

RENEW YOUR VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Available on Gov2Go gov2go

Renew your registration online in minutes and get your tag decals delivered in the mail.

ARStar
RENEW NOW

ASSESS YOUR VEHICLE

Available on Gov2Go gov2go

Look up your county assessor's office. Most counties offer online assessment. You must assess between January 1 and May 31 each year.

Car Assessment
ASSESS

PRINT DUPLICATE REGISTRATION

Lose your registration? No problem. Print and pay for a copy here.

Laptop
DUPLICATE REGISTRATION

PAY YOUR PERSONAL PROPERTY TAXES ONLINE

Available on Gov2Go gov2go

Find your county, look up what you owe and pay your tax bill online in most counties.

Credit Card
PAY PROPERTY TAXES

CHANGE YOUR RENEWAL ADDRESS

Available on gov2go

Update the address you want your vehicle tags mailed to

Map
CHANGE ADDRESS

GET EMAIL REMINDERS

Available on gov2go

Sign up to be reminded by email when it's time to renew your auto tags

Email
SIGN UP

REGISTRATION FEE SCHEDULE

Need to view the Motor Vehicle Registration Fee Schedule? Please click below.

Truck
VIEW FORM
Getting a Driver's License or State ID

Whether you've just moved here or you're a native, you need a valid driver's license to drive a car in Arkansas.

REAL ID

Arkansas is compliant with the Real ID Act of 2005. See what you need to get yours before the May 3, 2023 deadline!

New Driver's License
LEARN MORE

NEED A NEW DRIVER'S LICENSE

Click below to learn about the requirements for all license classes, endorsements, and restrictions.

New Driver's License
GET A LICENSE

REQUEST A DUPLICATE DL OR STATE ID

Lose your driver's license or ID card? No problem. Apply for a duplicate in minutes and get your card delivered to you within three days.

Driver's License Image
APPLY FOR A DUPLICATE

PRE-REGISTER FOR A DL OR STATE ID

LESS WAIT

You'll have to visit the DMV to get a license, but you can save time by starting the application process here. You'll get a case number to bring to the DMV, where you'll take your photo and pay.

Application Image
PRE-REGISTER

GET DL RENEWAL NOTICES BY EMAIL OR SMS

Sign up to receive your driver's license renewal notices through email or text message.

Email Image
GET NOTICES

GET A CLEARANCE/RECORD OF LICENSE STATUS LETTER

Get a record showing your status of your driving privilege.

Paper Image
GET LICENSE STATUS

REQUEST A REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENT LETTER

If your driver's license or ID has been suspended, find out what requirements are needed to get back in good standing.

Checklist Image
MAKE A REQUEST

PAY REINSTATEMENT FEE

If you've had your driver's license suspended, you can pay your reinstatement fee online to get on the road to driving again.

Pointer Image
PAY NOW

CHANGE YOUR ADDRESS

Moved? Change your address online without having to stand in line and get a new driver's license or ID.

Address Change Image
CHANGE ADDRESS NOW

EMERGENCY CONTACT INFO

Need to add or update your emergency contact information? You no longer have to go to the Revenue Office to do that!

Information Image
EMERGENCY CONTACT

REQUEST FOR A VOTER
REGISTRATION APPLICATION

Need a Voter Registration Application by mail? Select the button below and the Secretary of State will mail you an application.

Vote Icon
REQUEST VOTER APPLICATION

ONLINE DRIVING RECORDS

Request and print your own personal or commercial driving record.

Vote Icon
REQUEST DRIVING RECORD

AGE WAIVER APPLICATION TO OBTAIN A HARDSHIP LICENSE

Age waivers, hardships, are issued for minors between the ages of 14-16 for specific purposes of getting to and from school or school activities, to and from work, or for medical reasons.

Application
WAIVER APPLICATION

ALCOHOL TREATMENT PROGRAMS

Where to find treatment programs.

INFO
ALCOHOL PROGRAMS

ALCOHOL EDUCATION TREATMENT DIRECTORY

Location and contact information for alcohol education.

INFO
ALCOHOL EDUCATION DIRECTORY

VICTIM IMPACT PANEL

A Victim Impact Panel (VIP) is a community-based meeting for victims/witnesses to describe the experiences they or loved ones have endured due to the actions of drunken drivers.

INFO
VICTIM IMPACT PANEL

DUI/DWI ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING

A hearing wherein the alleged events occurred for which the person was arrested.

INFO
DUI/DWI HEARING
Truck CDL Image
CDL/IRP/IFTA

Before you renew, proof of legal presence (birth certificate) is required.

SELF-REGISTER IRP ACCOUNT

Starting a trucking company in Arkansas? First time registrants can request access for an International Registration Plan account online, without making a trip to the IRP office.

Self-Register
REGISTER

REGISTER MEDICAL CERTIFICATE / CDL SELF CERTIFICATION

Commercial Drivers can register their medical certification here.

Certificate
REGISTER NOW

STUDY FOR THE CDL WRITTEN EXAM

Passing the CDL Exam is the first step in getting your license. Download CDL study materials and find six testing sites near you.

Study Guide
STUDY MATERIALS

Trucking Portal IRP/IFTA

Use of the trucking portal allows you 24 hours a day to access your IRP account to process applications and pay and issue credentials. IFTA will allow processing of license and decals to be issued to qualifying motor vehicles operating in more than one jurisdiction, along with processing of quarterly tax returns.

Payment Image
START NOW

BECOME A CERTIFIED TRUCKER AGAINST TRAFFICKING

Arkansas requires anyone applying for or renewing a Class A CDL to become a Certified Trucker Against Trafficking. Do that here.

Truck
CERTIFIED TRUCKER

TRIP PERMITS

Carriers may purchase trip permits conveniently 24 hours a day without having to pay a high service fee. No waiting on an SRO to open or get there before they close.

Truck
GET A TRIP PERMIT

IRP SALES TAX

Need to know about IRP sales tax for your truck or trailer please click below.

CAL
IRP SALES TAX INFO

IRP WEIGHT CLASSES

Click here to see what weight class your vehicle is classified under.

Truck
IRP WEIGHT CLASS INFO

NEW ACCOUNT REQUIREMENTS AND DOCUMENTATION

Need to self-register a new account or have a current account? Please click here for a list of documents needed.

Truck
DOCUMENTATION LIST

IRP APPORTIONED LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION

Have questions on what you need to renew? Please click below.

Truck
RENEWAL INFORMATION

FORM-2290

Need to file an IRS form 2290 to register your truck today? You can print one here.

Truck
PRINT FORM
Military Pentagon
Veteran Services

Renewal Options for Active Duty Military

DRIVER'S LICENSE RENEWAL

In order to better serve our military customers, the State of Arkansas & Driver Services permits active duty military personnel, and their dependents that are stationed or have been deployed outside of the State of Arkansas to renew their driver licenses through the mail.

Driver's License Renewal
FIND OUT MORE

MILITARY LICENSE PLATES

Have you served in the military during a conflict or are you a Disabled Veteran? We will provide information on what documentation is needed for your license plate.

Renewals
LEARN MORE

VETERAN DESIGNATION on DRIVERS LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION CARD

Information on applying to the Office of Driver Services to obtain a Veteran Designation on a Driver's License or Identification Card

Learn More
LEARN MORE